Rainbow Six Siege: First Time Breacher

I know I’m late to this game but I only just broke against my friend’s pestering to buy Rainbow Six Siege for a while now. I loved the Vegas games but, this games is a new take on the series. It has a lot in common with MOBA style games; there is a roster of characters with their own unique traits and talents for you to choose from. There is also a much greater emphasis on team work. If you try to be a lone wolf in these styles of game you die.

People who know me know that I love MOBA style games. I’ve put over 2000 hours into Dota 2 and Overwatch is one of my favourite shooters. I find the possible combinations fascinating and enjoy the challenge of learning how to play characters a great motivator (I play a wicked Ana). I found this game cheap online and decided to take the plunge finally.

maxresdefault (4)

Immediately I hit a frustrating roadblock, non of the characters are unlocked to practice. Part of the reason I prefer Dota 2 over League of Legends is that the entire roster of 111 characters is available to play from the get go. You can try out what works for you focus on those characters. When you start out in Siege, if you buy a particular operator over the others and are matchmade on a particular map you’re screwed. Take Glaz for example, currently my favourite Operator in the game, if you get a map that’s nothing but tight corridors you suddenly become useless. Sure there’s also Recruit but you didn’t pick this game to play a nameless faceless character. You play a MOBA to make use of the characters. I feel that in games like this it’s important to establish that each character has a particular role early. You should be able to pick a character that fits the map and what you need to do to achieve the goal rather than have to make do with what you have.

It’s an artificial way of forcing you to play the game for longer to get the rest of the cast. We’re two years into the release of this game. Why not just unlock the basic cast for everyone now? As much as I’ve just complained about how the game keeps you playing in some regards. It’s a lot of fun, theres definitely a high learning curve in how to control the weapons and how to use the characters to their full effect but I definitely want to keep playing this to get better at it. I’m a pretty competitive player and that is probably my downfall. I’d recommend at least trying this game, every kill you make feels like an achievement and each firefight is hard won and relies heavily on your skill as a player

 

Leave a comment